Skip to content

November 30, 2017

4

#AusReadingMonth Wrap Up

by NancyElin

Summer in Australia…..

 

  1. Life happens….when you made other plans.
  2. I don’t know who said that but  this adage is so true.
  3. That is what happened to Brona
  4. ….during her fifth #AusReadingMonth challenge.
  5. A family loss, arrangements to be made comforting others while you need
  6. …so much comfort yourself.
  7. And then trying to pull yourself together and  get on with life.
  8. But that is sometimes easier said than done.

 

  1. I discovered #AusReadingMonth 4 years ago.
  2. I progressed from one book, to 1 massive Australian classic, to 6 books
  3. …and this year 16 books!
  4. I read short stories , crime fiction, classics, non-fiction, fiction
  5. …and even a paranormal/speculative fiction (1)!
  6. I was in the Tanami Desert and on the Silk Road (dark web) searching for drugs.
  7. I was in WA with the most lovable families the Lambs and the Pickles.
  8. I saw ghosts! I rode with the Kelly gang,
  9. …wrote political satire poems with C.J. Dennis.
  10. I solved a murder…finally found Tasmania on the map.
  11. My finest moments were learning more about the aboriginals
  12. …and meeting some old friends, Thea Astley and Nevil Shute.
  13. I pushed myself….to read, read and read some more.
  14. Why?
  15. I did it for Brona.
  16. When a friend stumbles you support them in any way you can.
  17. I’m not close to Australia….actually on the other side of the world.
  18. But I had to be there for Brona, that’s what ‘reading friends’ are for.
  19. I had energy for two….and I read for both of us.

 

  1. There will come a time in 2018  when I stumble
  2. ....a reading ‘burn out’.
  3. I know I will get an encouraging  ‘twitter’  message that will comfort me.
  4. Brona,  November….
  5. “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…”
  6. …as Dickens would say.
  7. I had the BEST  #AusReadingMonth….ever,  thanks.

Books:

  1. My Place – S. Morgan
  2. Cloudstreet – T. Winton                                      
  3. True History of the Kelly Gang – P. Carey
  4. Silk Road – E. Ormsby –
  5. The Grief Hole – K. Warren     
  6. The Hands – S. Orr
  7. The Life and Work of C.J. Dennis – P. Butterss
  8. A Boat Load of Home Folk – T. Astley                           
  9. A Town Like Alice – N. Shute
  10. Essay:  Why She Broke – H. Garner -Walkley Award 2017 Feature Writing
  11. Position Doubtful – K. Mahood
  12. Into the Heart of Tasmania – R. Taylor
  13. Portable Curiosities – J. Koh 
  14. Salt Water – C. McLennan – READ
  15. Cardinal: The Rise and Fall of George Pell  – L. Milligan  2017 Walkley Award          

 

 

 

 

Read more from Uncategorized
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nov 30 2017

    Beautiful post! And way to go… 16 books. I’m impressed.

    Reply
    • Nov 30 2017

      Some coffee, cookies and I just let my thoughts of …as Tolkien would say
      “fellowship” take over the keyboard.
      I joined Brona in her Tolkien reading challenge this year
      … and had a difficult time staying motivated.
      She was always there to ‘nudge’ me on.
      Now it was my turn to ‘step up to the plate’ !
      Thanks for your comments…..

      Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Goodbye….2017 | NancyElin
  2. The Classics Club: 50 questions | NancyElin

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.