Skip to content

April 20, 2024

#Shortlisted T.S. Eliot Prize 2023

by NancyElin

 

Finish: 18.04.2024
Title: I Think We’re Alone Now (2023)
Genre: 29 poems  (82 pg)
Rating: F

 

  1. Some call it ‘delightfully difficult’.
  2. Some call it ‘ambitious’.
  3. I call it….disappointing.
  4. Sometimes when you start to dislike a book, you begin
  5. finding fault with all kinds of things that you wouldn’t otherwise.
  6. This book is not what I consider “shortlisted T.S. Eliot Prize” quailty.
  7. I could have accepted it …I’ve accepted far worse before!
  8. …but I found no dazzling images only spurts of hackneyed clichés
  9. …especially in “Audio Commentary”  4 pages with 101 sentenances.
  10. Is that poetry?
  11. Ms Parry has potential…being shortlisted demonstrates that
  12. …but did not show it to me today.

 

READ:

  • Self-Portrait as Othello – Jason Allen-Paisant  (35 poems) – REVIEW  Winner T.S. Eliot Prize 
  • The Map of the World – E. Ni Chuilleanáin – REVIEW
  • A Change in the Air – J. Clarke (55 poems) – REVIEW

 

Read more from Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.