Skip to content

January 1, 2018

9

Les Misérables Chapter-a-Day Read-along

by NancyElin

Twitter: @burns_nancy

01-07 January:   weekly summation of my thoughts.

 

  1. Nick Senger @ onecatholiclife.com  is hosting a year long
  2. …read-along of Les Misérables by Victor Hugo.
  3. I have been reading French for the past  5 years
  4. I started  with the 20 book by Emile Zola
  5. …the Les Rougon-Marquart series.
  6. That took me two years to finish.
  7. Often I try to find a really good  book French Book
  8. …  but even Goncourt Prize winners are lacking.
  9. Now I have decided to return to the classic Victor Hugo.
  10. I have never read anything about this novel, not seen movie or musical.
  11. This is a read-along with a writer I expect will not disappoint!
  12. I will follow the  informative posts that Nick will publish
  13. downloaded the reading schedule and
  14. …hope to finish this book by the end of the year!
  15. I will be reading it in French….nothing lost in translation, 🙂
  16. #LesMisReadalong

 

 

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jan 1 2018

    How fantastic Nancy! And I love that you’re reading it in French!! I’m going to try but it’s a (BIG) stretch for me, and I will predominantly be reading the most recent English translation.

    Reply
    • Jan 1 2018

      I sampled the first 2 chapters on Kindle to see if the book was ‘doe-able’ in French.
      I think I can manage it! Also…thanks for your tweets promoting Nick’s challenge…it finally pushed me to join in!

      Reply
  2. tracybham
    Jan 1 2018

    I am looking into doing this challenge. It does sound like a good way to read a book that seems formidable. If I start today, I will have to get a kindle version, then later I could look for a print version.

    Reply
    • Jan 1 2018

      Tracy, those were my thoughts exactly…a massive classic but I never get around to reading it!
      I finished ch1 today. It was short and feels good to have started this iconic French book!

      Reply
  3. Jan 1 2018

    Delighted to see you;re joining us Nancy. I was hoping you might consider this a good French language challenge 🙂

    I’m currently reading the Denny translation – 2 chapters in and so far so good, but I did enjoy Louise’s post about her two translations and the more modern one does sound (& read) in a more appealing way….

    Reply
    • Jan 2 2018

      You are so right…this is a great chance to read French daily! I discovered I can read 25 FR books and end up shilly-shalling my time with a below average (even though it won a prize!) book. I’d rather read 1 GREAT classic! I think it would be a good idea to read only classic French books in 2018. Then I’m sure to enjoy myself! Ch 1 was fun…and I did enjoy Louise’s post about the different translations. I start ch 2 with my morning cofffee…than the brain is sharp and ready to go! PS: kitchen, floors, bathrooms are clean already…so I can just sit in my reading chair all morning!

      Reply
  4. OOOOOOO!!!! I soooo wish I could participate. But I just don’t have the time! I could cry! In any case, enjoy it! It is wonderful and one of my favourites! You are soooo lucky to be able to read it in French!

    Reply
    • Jan 2 2018

      As Terry Parchett said: “So much universe, so little time.” I hope you can follow tweets, posts ( Brona’s Books and A Strong belief in Wicker (twitter: @AStrongBelief) and Nick’s excellent informatie (twitter: @nsenger). I’ve just met the first characters: L’évéquê de Digne, his sister and maid, Mme Baptistine and Mm Magloire. What’s going to happen in ch 2? #NeedCoffee and good French dictionary!

      Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2018 Reading intentions | NancyElin

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.