Skip to content

July 4, 2017

4

The New Yorker 26 June 2017

by N@ncy

Read:  03.07.2017 –  Yes  I did it! Read The New York the same week it arrived!

Cover:   Man buns have made it to the cover of The New Yorker.

  1. Peter de Sève  is American artist who has worked in the
  2. He received the National Cartoonists Society Magazine Illustration Award for 2000.
  3. Brooklyn’s eccentricities are an endless font of inspiration.
  4. Peter de Sève‘s  covers are often inspired by a person or place a few blocks from his home
  5. ….if not right outside his window

Conclusion:

  1. William Trevor’s short story The Piano’s Teacher’s Pupil 
  2. One of the elder statesmen of the Irish literary world.
  3. He is regarded as one of the greatest contemporary writers
  4. of short stories in the English language.
  5. I will review this short story in the coming weeks.
  6. The two poems in this issue deserve more ‘review time.
  7. I will read them later….and post my comments.
  8. “Now We Eat the Dark Vein” poem by James Seay
  9. “Walter” poem by Laurie Eustis
  10. The best writers in this issue were
  11. Emily Nussbaum (Pulitzer Prize winning TV critic) review of  TV series ” I Love Dick”
  12. Carrie Battan (Music critic) Grammy winner  Lorde, New Zealand Ella Yelich-O’Connor.

Jiayang Fan (staff writer)

  1. Gender inequality in China havs created a new industry
  2. China’s marriage crisis gives rise to a new job: the mistress dispeller!
  3. The three hundred employees of Weiqing Group calls itself first professional transnational love hospital!
  4. They are in the business to save a marriage at all costs
  5. …and they charge huge sums of money for this service!
  6. Potential client in-take interview costs  15.000 dollars!

Best illustrator Malika Favre for ‘Letter From Shanghai

 

 

Charles McGrath (Book review)  Housman Country: Into the Heart of England (P. Parker)

 

Alfred Edward Housman (1859 – 1936)  was an English classical scholar and poet, best known to the general public for his cycle of poems A Shropshire Lad.

Housman found his true vocation in classical studies and treated his poems as secondary. (pendant and poet)  He did not speak about his poetry in public until 1933.  He argued that poetry should appeal to emotions rather than to the intellect.

A Shropshire Lad has never been out of print since it was published, in 1896. Somehow, these sixty-three short lyrics, celebrating youth, loss, and early death. What it feels like to be an emotional adolescent and what it means to be English.

  1. McGrath reveals part of Housman’s charm
  2. is the way he makes that sadness sound and feel so sweet:

 

Into my heart an air that kills
From yon far country blows:
What are those blue remembered hills
What spires, what farms are those?

That is the land of lost content.
I see it shining plain,
The happy highways where I went
And cannot come again.

 

Read more from The New Yorker
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jul 4 2017

    While I don’t take the New Yorker I do take the London Review of Books and I get entirely why you’d be delighted to read it in the week it arrives -think am about 4-5 weeks behind on the LBR. As for man buns – I’m keen as used to be a ponytail bloke in younger days – but my family have swiftly disabused me of any thoughts of man buns on the grounds that (a) I will look ridiculous and (b) they will all leave me!

    Reply
    • Jul 4 2017

      Your famliy knows best …! What does the dog think about it?

      Reply
  2. Jul 4 2017

    I love that I recommend William Trevor to you as one of my favourite short story writers & a week later there’s one in the latest edition of the New Yorker for you to sample.

    Life’s like that sometimes 😊

    Reply
    • Jul 4 2017

      I know, what a coincidence! I was too tired last night to read Trevor’s short story….I’ll get to it today or tomorrow. I want to give it my full attention. But first I must read 1 hour in German this afternoon, determined to learn this language too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments