Skip to content

July 3, 2017

2

Paris in July: French composer Darius Milhaud

by N@ncy

  1. Paris in July  hosted by  Thyme for Tea officially starts!
  2. You can join the challenge here.
  3. My exposure to French music or French composers is virtually nil.
  4. I have  a  serious deficit and I  am setting out to repair it.
  5. I thought I would look into  music by a modern  French composer.
  6. I stumbled on an article about Darius Milhaud (1892 – 1974).
  7. He is  considered one of the key modernist composers.

Quickscan:

  1. Darius Milhaud  (1892 – 1974) was a French composer.
  2. Born in Marseille to a Jewish family from Aix-en-Provence.
  3. In 1925, Milhaud married his cousin, Madeleine (1902–2008), an actress and reciter.
  4. The invasion of France by Nazi Germany forced the Milhauds to leave France in 1940
  5. They emigrated to the United States .
  6. He secured a teaching post at Mills College in Oakland, California.
  7. The jazz pianist Dave Brubeck  and Burt Bacharach are some of
  8. …Milhaud’s most famous students.
  9. On a trip to New York  City Darius Milhaud
  10. …heard “authentic” jazz for the first time  on the streets of Harlem.
  11. Here is an impressive list of his compositions.

  1. I have never heard of Mihaud ….as I think many of us do not recognize the name.
  2.  This ‘Suite Provençale” is  based on old folk tunes and ‘polished’ by Milhaud.
  3. It is a celebration of his beloved ‘La Provence.’  (1 min 45 sec)

 

  • I listened to his famous La Creation de Monde (1923)
  • it was written after a visit to the jazz clubs of Harlem.
  • It will suprise you.
  • The first 3 minutes I thought…blah, blah
  • once you reach the 4 minute mark the music shows
  • Milhaud’s  jazz-classical mélange that
  • …Gershwin employed in “Rhapsody in Blue.
  • It is uplifting, toe-tapping.  I didn’t expect that!
  • So if you have the time….have a cup of coffee…slow down and listen.
  • It’s French….c’est merveilleux!

 

Read more from French, Music
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jul 4 2017

    I can’t offer you anything by way of response as nothing next to nothing about French music and Milhaud. But I did watch David Guetta at Isle of Wight Festival and surprisingly I loved it! ( mind you that might have been aided and abetted by copious Heineken!). And coincidentally on the way in this morning I’ve been serenading my fellow Londoners on the A406 by singing along to Constance Amiot’s ‘Decrocher La Lune’ – no idea why but I love that song and half of it’s in French!!!

    Reply
    • Jul 4 2017

      Two French songs I have to sing along with are

      Edith Piaff’s Je ne Regrette Rien
      Jaques Brel’s Ne me quitte pas
      Goosebumps….!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments