Skip to content

June 30, 2017

6

Slow down…

by N@ncy

 

  1. I can collect all the LISTS in the world.
  2. I can join a million reading challenges.
  3. But a book all comes down to my mood.
  4. At the moment…I’m in a rant  mood.

 

  1. I’ve been so disappointed with a few classics on
  2. Modern Library’s  list of best 100 novel…so dejected.
  3. Who puts three James Henry books on  the list
  4. one was more than enough?
  5. Light-weights….
  6. The Postman Always Rings Twice,
  7. From Here to Eternity, Kim, Catcher In The Rye
  8. USA by Dos Passos and The Magnificient Ambersons
  9. …are good but not TOP 100 novel-ish.
  10. So I have decided to replace the Books I Dread
  11. with some books  I really want to read.
  12. Terry Pratchett was a very wise man…..

 

 

  1. I took the time to think for myself and choose books
  2. Some are diamonds…some are glass…
  3. but most important
  4. ….they are all books I want to read

 

Science fiction:  Fahrenheit 451 – R. Bradbury

  • I always thought that science fiction was just mumbo-jumbo.
  • How wrong I have been.
  • In 1953  SF moved from magazines to the novel genre.
  • There was a market for these books filled with veiled
  • commentary on the times.
  • Bradbury touches on  destruction of culture (book burning by Nazis)
  • public’s addiction to TV, the power of advertising and McCarthyism.
  • This is just the first SF book I will read.
  • I want to learn about all that I have been missing!

 

Science fiction:    The Left Hand of Darkness – Ursula Le Guin

  • I hope Ursula Le Guin wins the Nobel Prize one day.
  • It should be soon because she is 88 years old.
  • What is her strength?
  • She gives us a view from the other side…
  • showing us that that our perception of reality may be incomplete.
  • The author M. Chabon says Le Guin gave 21st C writers new tools
  • to work in the “borderlands,” the place where the fantastic enters literature.

 

Biography:  Orwell – M. Shelden

  • I found this book by accident.
  • Again…dreading books by George Orwell I thought
  • if I learn more about the man….reading his books would be easier.

 

Fiction:  1984 – G. Orwell

  • Ironically after reading the introduction to the  Orwell the biography
  • 1984 is a the only book from my ‘dread’ list that
  • …I am keeping on my list.

 

Fiction:    The Slow Natives – T. Astley

 

Short Stories:   several collections

  • I need a quick read  while
  • …drinking my morning coffee with the cats.
  • Short stories  have  never lost their artistic value
  • …but I seldom read them!
  • I am going to choose stories from several collections:
  • The New York Stories  – Edith Wharton
  • The Early Stories – John Updike 1/103
  • Complete Stories of – Dorothy Parker
  • The Rendezvous and other Stories – Daphne  du Maurier
  • Collected Stories – Katherine Mansfield
  • Complete Stories of – Flannery O’ Connor
  • The Collected StoriesWilliam Trevor

 

Crime fiction:    several choices

  • I will try yet again to read more crime fiction.
  • Le Carré – The Perfect Spy
  • Len Deighton – Berlin Game
  • Rex Stout – Some Buried Caesar – READING
  • Olen Steinhauer – An American Spy
  • D. Sayers – Strong Poison

 

Non-fiction:

  • I have several books written ‘about books, authors and plays’.
  • In the past I never allowed myself the time to read them.
  • Now it is time…to slow down and enjoy these books.
  • Approaches to Teaching the Plays of August Wilson – S. Shannon, S. Richards
  • Introduction to the American Short Story – M. Scofield
  • The Figure of the Detective – C. Brownson
  • Seamus Heaney – H. Vendler
  • The Politics: in Shakespeare’s History Plays – U. Kizelbach

 

Magazine:  The New Yorker

  • I have been reading this magazine since grammar school.
  • The literary content was beyond me at the time
  • …I just loved the cartoons.
  • Now every week the magazine arrives…and I ignore it.
  • Why?
  • No time to read it….I say to myself.
  • Now I’m making time to…
  • enjoy one of the best magazine in the world!
  • Issue 26 June 2017 – READ  cover to cover –  03.07.2017

 

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor terry pratchett quotes

 

  1. I find the slower I go…the more I want to do!
  2. Terry Pratchett said something that really stayed with me:
  3. “So much universe…so little time.”
  4. Clive Jones  poems Sentenced to Life is a book I cherish.
  5. In his title poem he said:
  6. “No birds touch down in the trees without me seeing them.
  7. I count bees.”
  8. A True lesson in slowing down…
  9. and end of rant.
6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jun 30 2017

    Amen to slowing down & reading for pleasure!

    1984 may not be a pleasure to read but it is a worthy read. So much of our dystopian fiction stems from it & so much of it has leaked into popular parlance that it’s good to know how it started.

    I read my first Lord Whimsey in Cuba – great holiday read!

    Have you ever tried of any of William Trevor’s short stories. He’s one of my all time favs!

    Reply
    • Jun 30 2017

      Never read Trevor…but will add him to the list! If you have any reading suggestions that pop into your head, just add them here via comment.
      1984: I was stunned to learn (via pre-reading about the book in bio Orwell….) that Stalin is the role model for big brother! Orwell fought in Spanish Civil War…and he knew that Stalin was ‘the manipulator’ behind the screens…1000 miles away…orchestrating the war for his own advantages. Stalin had 1000’s of eyes in Spain…’big brother was watching everybody.’
      Oh, I am anxious to start my list. Reviews will probobaly be in the from of ‘journal writing’. I will jote down thoughts as I progress …to share later. Thx so much for …slowing me down!

      Reply
      • Jun 30 2017

        I didn’t know that about the Spanish Civil War, but I did know that 1984 was based on Stalin’s ‘cult of personality’.

        I can’t for what else arises from the bio….

  2. Jul 1 2017

    I want to read more by Ursula Le Guin and I plan to read Fahrenheit 451 (that would be a reread). I hope you enjoy the crime fiction you try, especially Some Buried Caesar. But… not all books appeal to everyone.

    Reply
    • Jul 2 2017

      I like Le Guin…she’s a feisty lady!
      I got sidetracked yesterday and ended up reading a short story by Updike instead of Rex Stout.
      If I want to follow the craziness here at the moment Tour De France biking race (3 weeks tv sport) I’ll have to do some serious reading in the morning.

      Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Books I Dread | NancyElin

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments