Skip to content

June 10, 2017

10

Book Tag

by N@ncy

 

  1. There is no better way to start a Saturday morning…..books and coffee.
  2. At the moment there is a great ‘Book Tag’  circulating in bloggerland.
  3. Here are a few of the lists I enjoyed:
  4. Brona’s Books,  On Bookes and Howling Frog Books.

 

 

The list of questions:

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

  • Stuart Little by E.B. White – this was my childhood favorite

2. Which book character would you switch places with?

  • Stuart Little.

 

 

3. What is your current read, last read and the book you plan to read next?

 

4. What book do you tell yourself you’ll read, but probably wont?

 

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

  • War and Peace (L. Tolstoy) ….No excuses now, I’ll have to start this soon!

 

6. What book outside your comfort zone did you end up loving?

  • Madame Bovary (G. Flaubert). This was my first book I read in French 2012.
  • It took me 3 months to read, but loved every minute of the struggle!

 

 

 

7. What book reminds you a specific place/time/person?

  • My sister was a huge influence on me when it comes to books
  • She wanted my copy of Forever Amber (Cogi books, 1960)
  • …I would not give it to her.
  • She wanted me to read Under the Volcano (Signet Classic, 1965)
  • …I hated it.
  • My mother was a lot of fun. I always joked with her ” Mildred, you pierce me!
  • …we would both have a good laugh!

 

8. Which book has been with you most places?

  • Webster’s Collegiate Dictonary (G.&.C. Merrian Co., 1961)
  • My mother gave it to me when I left home to live in The Netherlands.
  • “…must not neglect your spelling, dear!”

 

Touching moment:

  • …many years later I happend to find a quote she wrote
  • …in the back of the book.
  • These were her words of wisdom to a daughter leaving home for good…

 

 

9. Which book have you reread the most? I do not re-read.

 

10. Three bookish confessions?

 

 

If you’d like to join in, here are the questions for an easy copy & paste.

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?
2. What is your current read, last read and the book you plan to read next?
3. What book do you tell yourself you’ll read, but probably wont?
4. What book are you saving for retirement?
5. Which book character would you switch places with?
6. What book reminds you a specific place/time/person?
7. Which book has been with you most places?
8. What book outside your comfort zone did you end up loving?
9. Which book have you reread the most?
10. Three bookish confessions?

Read more from Messages
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jun 10 2017

    I’m nearly with you on War and Peace for retirement but for me it’ll be a re- read – last time was when a student – but I guess outside of Uni or retirement where else would we find the time for the great tome?!?!

    Reply
    • Jun 10 2017

      I know, that book has been following me around with puppy fidelity. I just cannot shake him off!
      Perhaps this winter….take along blog break, put on the heating stock up on home-made ch chip cookies and many cups of tea and coffee. You know the motto: #JustDoIt !
      What book is still following you around?

      Reply
      • Jun 10 2017

        The book I’m saving for retirement is Proust’s In Search Of Lost Time – have always thought perfect and very apt for retirement!!

  2. Jun 10 2017

    And teachers! When I was still teaching, I read War & Peace one summer holiday. But I’ve forgotten a lot of it now, maybe a reread in my retirement 😉

    You don’t reread ever? Not even as a kid?
    Do you also never rewatch a movie?
    Can I ask why not?

    How wonderful finding that quote from your mum! That’s so special.

    I love that we both featured Forever Amber though 💃🏼

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply
    • Jun 10 2017

      I never re-read because there is always a voice in my head “There are so many books yet to read…..so little time.”
      I can hardly remember reading as a child. Strange but it is so. Books were everywhere in my house (mother, father and sister were avid readers). My summer reading at the public library is the only thing I truly remember. (read book – tell librarian a little about it – get a gold star on the Summer Reading poster next to your name!).
      I have only a few movies I re-watch (White Christmas, Deer Hunter, Babette’s Feast and Casablanca)
      Every time I pick up Forever Amber….I wish I ha d given it to my sister….still feel guilty and petty.
      But that is what happens with sisters…at times.

      Reply
      • Jun 10 2017

        I have 3 sisters – I know exactly what you mean!

        I don’t reread as much as I used to – I’m starting to miss it (which is why I’m doing my lord of the rings reread). I reread so many books as a kid as I didn’t own that many & I read voraciously. I would often finish a book then turn around a read it again. I loved a series as I would reread them from start to finish many times over. I could read all the Anne of Green Gable books in just over a week.

  3. Jun 10 2017

    First, I have to ask: What significance does the quote on the mug have? Because I am an old woman, I love books, and I was born in November.

    I enjoyed your Book Tag comments. I actually saw Brona’s first, then saw your comments, and looked at your post, but I would have seen yours anyway because I get your posts via email. I may try to do this if I can organize myself enough. I am always behind on reviews.

    Loved the vintage book covers you featured, especially Mildred Pierce.

    Reply
    • Anonymous
      Jun 10 2017

      You and I have a lot in common…old, books and born in November!
      My mother’s name was Mildred….and I loved to tease her!
      This was a fun post to write….brings back memories!

      Reply
  4. Jun 12 2017

    Ah, you did it even before I got home to approve the comment! 😀 What a fun list.

    Reply
    • Jun 12 2017

      It took some thinking, but once I got started I enjoyed sharing the memories.
      Thanks for your comments!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments