Skip to content

May 16, 2017

2

Update: Lord of the Ring #NeverGiveUp

by N@ncy

  1. I am taking part in Brona’s Books #HLOTRreadalong 2017.
  2. I read The Hobbit but am having difficulty staying motivated.
  3. Life happens and after 3 weeks with a house painter
  4. who was working so hard to make my house beautiful again…
  5. …and nursing a sick cat (RIP Mindy)…I was drained.
  6. I am not a fan of  fantasy …so needed all the support I could get.
  7. Host @brona’sbooks  did not fail me.
  8. I needed a break to forget a cat that meant so much to me.
  9. I needed to block out memories and fill my mind with French words.
  10. That meant reading French 24/7 for 4 weeks.
  11. My quest: 
  12. Gather my thoughts, relax  and try to complete the read-a-long!

Reading Schedule:

  1. The Hobbit in February  – DONE
  2. The Fellowship of the Ring  ch 1-6  – DONE
  3. Now it is time to  be ‘hobbit’.
  4. #NeverGiveUp
  5. #KeepGoing
  6. …and remember how important
  7. #Friendship is.
  8. Thanks Brona for being there for me!
Read more from Uncategorized
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. May 17 2017

    I’m glad you’ve found your way back to us Nancy.

    Mindy obviously meant a lot to you and it’s only natural you need time to grieve/honour her memory. I think we often underestimate how much our pets mean to us and how much sparkle they add to add our days (& nights). I had a cat called Maisie who I still miss.

    Hobbits also have an affinity and kindness towards all animals – and so does Gandalf and of course, the Elves do too.

    Happy trails, but watch out for the orcs!

    Reply
    • May 17 2017

      Thanks so much for your comments….it is difficult losing such a sweet cat..but life goes on. I read Tolkien all afternoon yesterday and hope to finish Fellowship this before the weekend. I’m doing my best. French books still pull me away from Frodo and Co….but I’m learning to balance my reading a bit more! Happy Trails!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments